Busy Bee

busy bee

Sorry I’ve been quiet for a while. But I thought I’d quickly pop in to provide an update on how things have been going the past few weeks…

Work has been picking up since its prime event fundraising season for all of the walk and runs this upcoming summer and fall for my clients. I’ve been busy putting together sites for one client alone that has 60+ events. Needless to say, I’m on the computer…a lot.

I generally like to write in the early morning or in the evening; however, after hours-upon-hours looking at a computer screen, I just can’t get the will to continue typing or generally being coherent.

I had my neurologist follow-up last week about my intensifying migraine headaches. I started back up on a preventive medication and it seems to be helping now that it is getting into my system. It’s also helping with the insomnia that I have, but thankfully that hasn’t been happening as frequently as it was a few months back. Still, there are some nights where I just can’t find the off-switch and I’m antsy in bed at 3 a.m. The true test for this med will be in a week or so once I ovulate since hormone changes seem to be a huge trigger. The goal is to not have me popping Midol like Skittles this month.

I’m still having a bit of GI distress and the erratic high blood pressures. Awaiting my follow-up with a new GI at the end of the month and my 5-year colonoscopy. Yippee. But, I’ve started to regularly take a pre/pro-biotic and drinking kombucha tea several times a week. I thought that would help with that ongoing bacterial/yeast infection issue but at my physical earlier this week they found I have another yeast infection so I was back on antibiotics again. I just hope we can find the root of all of this. I can’t help but think all of this is just from the stress of this past year. I started to see a chiropractor as well. Been twice so far and have another appointment this weekend. Let’s just say my back and my neck are jacked-up. I’m sitting here as I type with a hot pad around my neck after today’s adjustments and massage therapy.

I’ve got some travel coming up this year, which will be a change of pace from 2016. Last year, I only went on that girl’s trip to South Carolina and didn’t go anywhere else all year, and that’s somewhat atypical for me. I’m heading to D.C. for a nonprofit tech conference later this month so I get to see some of my colleagues, and that’s always a great thing. (The craziness that’s our nation’s Capitol, now that’s a different story…) I work for a virtual company so we’re scattered all over the country. We generally only see one another at conferences. Otherwise, our contact is limited to conference calls and emails. I often times find myself craving human interaction. Thus, why I head to Starbucks frequently as my remote office when I don’t have any calls.

In April, I’m heading briefly to Milwaukee to testify for my older brother’s SSDI hearing. Three years coming for that. Fingers crossed things go well and in his favor. As you recall, he’s living in a homeless shelter, having mental health and physical issues. It’s one of those things that I constantly worry about but really can’t do much about and it frustrates me because it makes me feel like less of a person and the sister that I think I should be.

April is also the one year anniversary of losing Emmett. I honestly can’t believe it’s been almost a year. It’s so crazy. It’s gone so fast, yet so slow at the same time. I’ve got a big secret plan that I’m doing to honor him in April that I hope to unveil to you all after April 26. I’ve been working on it for a few months now and things are starting to take shape so I’m super excited to see it come to fruition.

Then, finally, in May, we’re actually taking a vacation. We were supposed to go on a Disney cruise last October but canceled for financial reasons since I just didn’t work a lot after everything with Emmett happened so we couldn’t responsibly go on a big trip anywhere. Thankfully, we did cancel, because the cruise we were scheduled to go on was canceled anyways due to a hurricane in the Caribbean. Anyways, we’re making a whirlwind family trip to Ohio, Illinois and Wisconsin. I see a lot of Lou Malnati’s deep dish and Kopp’s frozen custard in my future. And, of course, we get to see our family and friends.

We’ve also been busily preparing, volunteering and working to support Massachusetts Chapter of The TEARS Foundation’s 2nd annual Rock & Walk in June. Brett and I have been asking everyone we know for their support of our team or to become an event sponsor or provide raffle items. We’ve gotten quite a few “yes” answers so far, which is wonderful and so humbling. But, there is still such a long way to go to reach the chapter’s fundraising goal and to help raise more awareness about this cause.

We really want to help other parents and families who have gone through similar losses to us in any way that we can. We just want them to know that they are not alone. There are people there to listen, to be a shoulder to cry on, to help them in their time of need and sorrow. I wish we would’ve known about TEARS even earlier so those first few months didn’t have to be so lonely and isolating. The group of individuals that we have met have been a lifeline for us as we move on this path to a new normal and to understanding this new person that has emerged from this shell of grief and despair. I cannot thank them enough for everything they have done for us. No gesture will ever be enough to repay them.

In addition to being able to make an online gift at anytime on our Crowdrise page to support the organization, I’ll be announcing very shortly some special fundraising opportunities that people in New England can take part in to support our walk team. There also should be some online opportunities that I hope to tell everyone about soon, as well.

Plus, we invite everyone who can join us at the walk on June 25, 2017, to take part in this great day for families. There will be games and face painting for the kids, entertainment and more! It’s sure to be a blast! You can register on Crowdrise, too, or mail in your registration. We’d love to have you be a part of our team or you can start your own team to help support the 1 in 4.

Ok, my quick check-in turned into a much longer post than I had anticipated. I guess I really have been busy the past few weeks, huh? I hope I won’t be away too much longer.

Love and hugs,

♥ Christina

2017_RockWalk_flier

 

 

Leave a Reply

