November Link Roundup

So, I’m sitting at Starbucks today. Got out of the house to do some work since it’s a gloomy, drizzly fall day.

A few minutes after I sat down, a couple with twin boys, no more than 3 or 4 years old, sat down at the table next to me. The kids were bopping and bouncing to the music, happily chomping on their little snack boxes of fruit and cheese. I couldn’t help but smile as I looked over at them. One of the boys exclaimed, “Mommy! She has your computer,” while I typed away on my Mac putting together an email newsletter for a client. “Yes, hunny, that is the same as Mommy’s computer at home.” We just silently smiled at each other.

image-1

The couple started talking to the woman on the opposite side of them and I overheard, “Do you have any other kids?” My heart just sank momentarily. Thinking to myself. Oh god, please don’t talk to me. I don’t want to answer that. I’ve actually not had anyone ask if I have kids since losing Emmett so I haven’t had to answer that particular question yet. I know it’s going to come up some day. I’ll probably be honest and just say I have an angel baby. But there are times where it just takes more energy to be honest and it’s easier to utter no even though in my heart it’s an awful lie.

Missed something from the past month? Here’s a quick round-up of some of the most-read blog posts:

1. What’s A Grief Burst? (Thanks to the Grieving Parents Support Network for sharing on Facebook!)

2. A Grandmother’s Story: My Journey in the Wilderness

3. Live Life

Here are some links from across the web about miscarriage, loss, grief and support:

“Compassion for Those Who Have Suffered a Miscarriage,” Grok Nation, by Talia Davis Haykin, posted Oct. 28, 2016. (Side note: Grok Nation is the brain-child of actress Mayim Bialik and covers a bunch of great topics, definitely suggest checking it out if you haven’t heard about it)

“27 Beautiful Bible Versions for Every Woman in Need of Love, Reassurance and Strength,” by Marissa Donnelly and posted on “Thought Catalog,” April 18, 2016.

“My Before Friends and My After Friends,” by Megan Skaggs and posted in Still Standing Magazine, Oct. 3, 2016.

I’ll leave you with this feel-good story. This elderly man in Georgia has learned to knit and he’s making teeny hats for preemies at a local hospital’s NICU. Last month, he delivered more than 300 hats to the hospital. Love him! Makes me want to start back up and continue knitting some more knit hats for the hospital where we delivered Emmett in April. I haven’t made a delivery in several months.

One thought on “November Link Roundup

  1. Last week, I met an old co-worker from years back. I was asked the question, ” did I have any grandchildren yet”. At first thought, I didn’t know what to say without bursting the “happy mood” we were in. I didn’t want to lie or bury the reality of what happened to my grandson but I said, “yes”.
    Although this holiday season as I watch others experience the joy, the truth is, it’s been hard as a grandmother to miss what would have been a joyous “first” Christmas with our Emmett.
    So if you are fortunate enough to have your little tike with you amist the busyness of holiday shopping, try to be a bit more patient, giving and loving to those that means so much to you!
    To my loving daughter, thanks for being transparent, courageous and exceptional! Yes, you are Emmett’s mommy! I will never forget the sacrifice you made, to make him free from suffering! Continue honoring his memory by touching others of Emmett’s story. You are the bravest mommy I know!

    Like

Leave a Reply

