All Lives Matter

I just cried for 15 mins, like the ugly sobbing. All of the violence and hate. What is this world coming to? I just can’t wrap my head around all of this and maybe I’m not meant to. A part of me is relieved that I was able to protect Emmett from growing up in a world like this but another part of me, that naive and idealistic part, thinks only a new generation of children can make it better. I don‘t know what the solution is, and I don’t know if we’ll ever get to one. I just keep turning on the news in disbelief every day at new horrific actions that out-do each other.

I don’t mean to belittle the actions of late but this quote from a recent Doctor Who just resonates: “You’re not superior to people who were cruel to you. You’re just a whole bunch of new cruel people. A whole bunch of new cruel people being cruel to some other people who’ll end up being cruel to you. The only way anyone can live in peace is if they’re prepared to forgive. Why don’t you break the cycle?”

Orlando, Dallas, Paris, wherever… all lives matter. The color of your skin, the beliefs in your heart, none of that should make you a target for prejudiced actions. Break the cycle, Break the Hate. Forgive. Love. Believe in a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

